Eisner Retailer Award Current Info

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Information regarding nominations for the 2015 Will Eisner Spirit of Comics Retailer Award will appear on this page in early 2015.

2014 Will Eisner Spirit of Comics Retailer Award Recipients
2014 Will Eisner Spirit of Comics Retailer Award Recipients

Congratulations to our 2014 Will Eisner Spirit of Comics Retailer Award Recipients:

All Star Comics of Melbourne, Australia

Troy Varker and Mitchell Davies

Legends Comics and Coffee of Omaha, Nebraska

David DeMarco, Jason Dasenbrock, and Wendy Pivonka

2014 Will Eisner Spirit of Comics Retailer Award Finalists

Twelve finalists were decided from the field of 37 nominees. This year's finalists are:

  • Acme Superstore, Longwood, Florida
  • All Star Comics, Melbourne, Australia
  • Alternate Reality Comics, Las Vegas, Nevada
  • Beyond Comics, Frederick, Maryland
  • Collector's Corner, Baltimore, Maryland
  • Dragon's Lair, Austin, Texas
  • Legend Comics & Coffee, Omaha, Nebraska
  • OK Comics, Leeds, UK
  • Packrat Comics, Hilliard, Ohio
  • Silver Snail Comics & Cafe, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • Time Warp Comics & Games, Boulder, Colorado
  • Villainous Lair Comics & Gaming, San Diego, California

2014 Will Eisner Spirit of Comics Retailer Award Nominees

Each year Comic-Con International honors retailers from around the globe with the Will Eisner Spirit of Comics Retailer Award, named after the visionary creator of The Spirit. When Will approached Comic-Con about initiating the award in the early 1990s, he wanted it as a way to acknowledge the important role that comics retailers play in the industry, nurturing the relationship between creators and their readers. The comic book retailer provides that vital link in getting the work from the creators and publishers to the public. Will recognized the importance of that link, and Comic-Con continues to recognize it over 20 years after Will’s original idea.

The Award is given out yearly to retailers who have done an outstanding job of supporting the comics medium both in the industry at large and in their local community. Comics fans around the world have the opportunity to nominate their favorite stores via the Comic-Con International website.

This year’s nominee list includes a record-setting 37 comic retail stores from across the United States, plus Canada, the United Kingdom, Australia, and Singapore. The finalists will be announced during the week of Comic-Con on our website, after the judges meet in San Diego. The recipient will be announced as part of the Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards on Friday, July 25, starting at 8:00 PM at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotel.

This year’s nominees are:
Acme Comics

Greensboro, NC • Mark Austin & Jermaine Exum

Acme Superstore

Longwood, FL • Terry Dinkins

Al n’ Ann’s Collectibles

McHenry, IL • John Alan Armstrong, Debbie Ann Armstrong

All Star Comics

Melbourne, Australia • Troy Varker and Mitchell Davies

Alternate Reality Comics

Las Vegas, NV • Ralph Mathieu

Aw Yeah Comics

Skokie, IL • Mark Hammond, Franco Aureliani, Art Baltazar

Beyond Comics

Frederick, MD • Jonathan Cohen

Collector’s Corner

Baltimore, MD • Randy Myers

Comic Book Jones

Staten Island, NY • Mark Eadicicco & Michael Rivas

Comic Bug

Manhattan Beach, CA • Jun Goeku and Mike Wellman

Comics Dungeon

Seattle, WA • Scott & Lainie Tomlin

Double Midnight Comics & Collectibles

Manchester, NH • Chris Proulx, Scott Proulx and Brett Parker

Dragon’s Lair Comics & Fantasy

Austin, TX • David M Wheeler

Epikos Comics, Cards & Games

Ooltewah, TN • Henry Flood, David Flood, Joe Jackson, John McConahy

The Escapist Comic Bookstore

Berkeley, CA • Jack Rems

Final Frontier

Plymouth, UK • Julian Shelford

G & B Comics

Singapore • Bernard Ang

Geoffrey’s Comics

Gardena, CA •Geoffrey Patterson

Graham Crackers

Chicago, IL • John Robinson and Jamie Graham

Heroes Headquarters

Ballarat, Australia • Garry and Pauline Fay

Hypno Comics

Ventura, CA • George Chase

Jesse James Comics

Glendale, AZ • Jesse James

Krypton Comics

Omaha, NE • Dean & Rashelle Phillips

Legend Comics & Coffee

Omaha, NE • David DeMarco, Jason Dasenbrock, Wendy Pivonka

Mile High Comics

Denver, CO • Chuck Rozanski

New Genesis Comics

Fort Collins, CO • Andrew Ricciardi

OK Comics

Leeds, UK • Jared Myland & Richard Makinson

Packrat Comics

Hilliard, OH • Jamie & Teresa Colegrove

Shield Comics & Games

Ames, IA • Chris Pellack

Silver Snail Comics & Café

Toronto, Ontario, Canada • George Zotti & Mark Gingras

Southern California Comics

San Diego, CA • Jamie Newbold

Space Cadets Collection Collection

Conroe, TX • Jen King

Third Coast Comics

Chicago, IL • Terry Gant

Time Warp Comics & Games

Boulder, CO • Wayne Winsett

Travelling Man

Manchester, UK • Nabil Homsi

Villainous Lair Comics & Gaming

San Diego, CA • Alison Flynn

WonderWorld Comics

Taylor, MI • Robert Bowman & Dennis Barger

GUIDELINES for nomination include:
  • Any retail store established in business for at least two years is eligible to be nominated.
  • Anyone—retailers, professionals, fans—may place a name in nomination.
  • A panel of industry judges selects a group of finalists to be subjected to an in-depth examination based on   the award criteria. Recipient will be announced as part of the Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards at Comic-Con International on Friday, July 25, 2014.
  • Previous winners are not eligible for nomination.
CRITERIA for judging include:
  • Supporting a wide variety of innovative material.
  • Providing opportunities for creators’ material to reach buyers; stocking a diverse inventory.
  • Knowledge: Working to stay informed on retailing as well as on the comics field.
  • Community activity: Promoting comics to the community; maintaining relationships with schools and libraries; keeping active in social, business, and arts community organizations.
  • Quality of store image: Using innovative display approaches; using store design creatively.
  • Adhering to standard ethical business practices.