Nate Powell

Nate Powell at Comic-Con International 2017, July 20–23 at the San Diego Convention Center

Photo by Rett Peek


Artist, MARCH trilogy; writer/artist, Swallow Me Whole, Any Empire

Nate Powell is a New York Times bestselling graphic novelist born in Little Rock, Arkansas in 1978. He began self-publishing at age 14, and graduated from the School of Visual Arts in 2000. His work includes the MARCH trilogy, the graphic novel autobiography of Congressman and civil rights icon John Lewis; You Don't Say, Any Empire, Swallow Me Whole, The Silence of Our Friends, The Year of the Beasts, and Rick Riordan’s The Lost Hero. Powell is the first and only cartoonist ever to win the National Book Award. His work has also received a Robert F. Kennedy Book Award, two Eisner Awards, two Ignatz Awards, two Harvey Awards, the Michael L. Printz Award, a Coretta Scott King Author Award, four YALSA Great Graphic Novels for Teens selections, the Walter Dean Myers Award, and has been a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize.