Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Special Guests

The following special guests have been confirmed for Comic-Con International 2018.

Jason Lutes

Jason Lutes at Comic-Con International 2018, July 19-22 at the San Diego Convention Center
Jason
Lutes

Writer, artist, Berlin, Jar of Fools

Jason Lutes is the author of Jar of Fools and the Berlin trilogy, the final book of which is making its debut at Comic-Con 2018. He also drew The Fall, written by Ed Brubaker, and currently teaches an MFA program for comics at the Center for Cartoon Studies in White River Junction, Vermont.

David Mack

David Mack at Comic-Con International, July 19-22 at the San Diego Convention Center
David
Mack

Writer/artist, Kabuki

David Mack is the Emmy Award-nominated, New York Times Best-selling author of Kabuki, Marvel's Daredevil writer, cover artist of Neil Gaiman's American Gods, Jessica Jones, and Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk. Jessica Jones TV titles, Captain America: The Winter Soldier film titles artist, and Cultural Ambassador of Arts and Story for the U.S. State Dept.

Mack taught at schools & refugee camps in former Soviet areas, North Africa, and Singapore, recently directed popular music videos, is working on a new creator-owned project with Brian Michael Bendis, and developing his creator-owned comic book Kabuki as a TV series with Sony.

Larry Marder

Larry Marder at Comic-Con International, July 19-22 at the San Diego Convention Center
Larry
Marder

Cartoonist, Beanworld

Larry Marder's Beanworld has delighted readers from grade school to grad school for more than a generation, earning him a spot on the New York Times' Graphic Books Bestsellers List. Beanworld is a weird fantasy dimension operating under its own rules and laws. All the characters, whether they are friends or adversaries, understand that ultimately they depend on each other for survival. Marder says “Beanworld is like Krazy Kat meets Adventure Time as interpreted by Dr. Seuss and Joseph Campbell—but different.” Marder is a life-long believer in Marcel Duchamp's observation that it is the viewer that makes the picture.

Scott McCloud

Scott McCloud at Comic-Con International, July 19–22 at the San Diego Convention Center
Scott
McCloud

Writer, artist, Understanding Comics, Zot!, The Sculptor

Scott McCloud is the award-winning author of Understanding Comics, Making Comics, Zot!, and many other fiction and nonfiction comics spanning 30 years. He’s lectured and consulted on comics and digital media for Google, Pixar, TED, Blizzard, MIT, Stanford, the Sydney Opera House, and hundreds of other events and organizations. He started the international 24-Hour Comic phenomenon, and his comics are available in 20+ languages in print and online at scottmccloud.com. His most recent graphic novel is The Sculptor from First Second Books, and Scott is hard at work on a new book about visual communication and education.

Mike Mignola

Mike Mignola at Comic-Con International 2018, July 19–22 at the San Diego Convention Center
Mike
Mignola

Writer, artist, Hellboy

Mike Mignola is best known as the award-winning creator/writer/artist of Hellboy. He was also visual consultant to director Guillermo del Toro on both Hellboy and Hellboy 2: The Golden Army films. A Hellboy reboot with director Neil Marshall is currently in production. Mignola lives in Southern California with his wife and cat.

Lonnie Millsap

Lonnie Millsap at Comic-Con International 2018, July 19-22 at the San Diego Convention Center
Lonnie
Millsap

Cartoonist, bacon

Lonnie Millsap is a cartoonist known for producing books of single panel cartoons since 2010. His work has been praised by noteworthy cartoonists such as Sergio Aragonés, Keith Knight, Robb Armstrong and Gary Panter, and he has exhibited or been a guest at comic conventions since 2011. In 2016 he won the LA National Cartoonists Society Dingy Award and the Comic Art Professional Society Don Rico Award. Millsap also competed in the 2017 and 2018 WonderCon Anaheim Quick Draw event with Sergio Aragonés. His comic, titled bacön, currently runs three times weekly on gocomics.com/bacon. In 2018 Millsap became the VP of the LA chapter of the National Cartoonists Society. He is nominated for his first webcomic category Reuben Award and recently had cartoons purchased by The New Yorker for publication.

Terry Moore

Terry Moore at Comic-Con International 2018, July 19–22 at the San Diego Convention Center
Terry
Moore

Writer, artist, Strangers in Paradise XXV, ECHO, Rachel Rising

Indy powerhouse Terry Moore began his career with the acclaimed epic, Strangers in Paradise, a compelling story of three unlikely friends. The series garnered numerous awards including the coveted Eisner Award for Best Serialized Story. Terry celebrates 25 years of SIP with a new ten-issue series, Strangers in Paradise XXV. His other hit series include Motor Girl, the story of a veteran and her imaginary friend, Rachel Rising, a horror comic, and ECHO, a science fiction thriller. In addition to publishing his own work, Moore has worked for Marvel, DC, Dark Horse, and other major publishers throughout his career.

Ann Nocenti

Ann Nocenti at Comic-Con International, July 19-22 at the San Diego Convention Center

Photo: Blair Breard

Ann
Nocenti

Writer, The Seeds, Daredevil, Catwoman

Ann Nocenti’s new comic is The Seeds, with artist David Aja (editor, Karen Berger, Berger Books/Dark Horse, 2018).  She wrote Daredevil, Catwoman, and co-created Longshot (with Arthur Adams) and Typhoid Mary (with John Romita Jr). Her journalism has appeared in Details, PRINT, Filmmaker, and more. Her films include Disarming Falcons (DOC NYC 2014) and Taking Chances (2009). She taught filmmaking in Haiti for which she was given the Humanitarian Award at the Tulsa International Film Festival. Current projects include MAGIC CITY, a street art exhibit in Germany (2016) and Marvel: Universe of Super Heroes (MoPOP, Seattle, April 2018). For more info, visit annienocenti.com.

Daniel José Older

Daniel José Older at Comic-Con International, July 19-22 at the San Diego Convention Center

Photo © Kevin Kane

Daniel José
Older

Author, Shadowshaper, Bone Street Rumba series

Daniel José Older is the author of the New York Times bestselling Shadowshaper, Star Wars Last Shot, the popular Bone Street Rumba urban fantasy series, and the upcoming middle-grade historical fantasy Dactyl Hill Squad. Daniel won the International Latino Book Award and has been nominated for the Kirkus Prize, the Mythopoeic Award, the Locus Award, the Andre Norton Award, and yes, the World Fantasy Award. Visit him online at DanielJoseOlder.net and follow him on Twitter@djolder.

Randy Reynaldo

Randy Reynaldo at Comic-Con International, July 19-22 at the San Diego Convention Center
Randy
Reynaldo

Writer/artist, Rob Hanes Adventures

Randy Reynaldo is the writer, artist, and creator of the long-running Rob Hanes Adventures, an independent comic book series published under Randy's WCG Comics imprint that debuted as a small press zine in the 1990s. The series is a contemporary comic book action-adventure series in the tradition of Will Eisner's Spirit and Milton Caniff's Terry and the Pirates that’s earned extensive coverage and numerous accolades from critics and industry trade publications. Issue 19 of the series will debut at this year’s San Diego Comic-Con where Randy has exhibited since 1993, as well as a fourth trade paperback volume compiling the series.

Jeff Smith

Jeff Smith at Comic-Con International 2018, July 19–22 at the San Diego Convention Center
Jeff
Smith

Cartoonist, BONE, RASL

Jeff Smith is the New York Times bestselling author/cartoonist of the Bone and RASL graphic novels. Bone has won numerous awards around the world, including multiple Eisners and Harveys and the French Alph Art. In 2005 Smith’s work was chosen to launch Graphix, an imprint of Scholastic Books. Smith was guest editor of Best American Comics in 2013. His webcomic about the first human to leave Africa 2 million years ago, Tuki Save the Humans at Boneville.com, won the 2014 Reuben Award for Best Online Comic and is currently being prepared for release as a graphic novel.

Matt Taylor

Matt Taylor at Comic-Con International 2018, July 19-22 at the San Diego Convention Center
Matt
Taylor

Illustrator, Mondo posters, book covers

Matt Taylor is a British born illustrator and comic book artist. He has worked as a freelancer illustrator for the last fifteen years and his work can be seen on book covers—most notably his ongoing work with John le Carre—albums—including Scream from Michael Jackson—and his extensive movie poster work with Mondo. He has also worked with the likes of the New York Times, Lucasfilm, and Burton Snowboards amongst others.

His work in comics includes Wolf with Ales Kot from Image Comics, and covers for Vertigo, Dark Horse, BOOM!, and Archie Comics. He lives on the edge of the Sussex countryside on the south coast of the United Kingdom with his wife, daughter and cat.