COMIC-CON 2017 TOUCAN TIP OF THE DAY!

#11: Special Programs at the San Diego Central Library!

Comic-Con International 2017 Toucan Tip of the Day

Since the founding of Comic-Con in 1970, one of our primary goals has been to support the education community and to promote the discovery of new ways to incorporate comics into the classroom.

During the week of Comic-Con, attendees can take part in a special series of panels, “Talking Comics with America’s Educators: The Comic Conference for Educators and Librarians,” designed specifically for educators and librarians. The San Diego Central Library is located just a few blocks east of the Convention Center, at 11th Avenue and K Street (see the map at the bottom of this page). Teachers, academics, librarians, publishers, and researchers—both local and international—will be offering their views about how comic books in the classroom can help educators tackle some of the challenges of modern education.

Best of all, educators and librarians are invited to attend these panels for free, whether they have a Comic-Con badge or not! If you or another educator you know would like to attend but don’t have a badge, please visit this link to register in advance: www.san diego.gov/ccel. Registration for educators without badges ends on July 17.

These panels are not only for educators … all Comic-Con attendees are welcome to attend! Stop by and find out how you can help promote the adoption of comics in the classroom and participate in a lively discourse on the latest in teaching pedagogy. Educational panels take place in the Shiley Events Suite on the 9th floor of the San Diego Central Library starting on Wednesday and running through Sunday. Here’s a preliminary schedule for the educational programs in the Shiley Special Events Suite. For more details on the panels—including the descriptions—please check the complete Programming Schedule when it debuts on Thursday, July 6 here on our website.

Wednesday, July 19
  • 4:00: Teaching with Comics: An Interactive Workshop for Educators
Thursday, July 20
  • 10:00: Creators, Libraries, and Literacy
  • 11:00: Picture Books for Grown-Ups: Why Graphic Novels Matter to Adults
  • 12:00: Read-Alikes: What to Suggest When Patrons Have Already Read Smile and The Walking Dead
  • 1:00: Young Adult Graphic Novel and Manga Collection Essentials: What Titles Every Library Should Carry
  • 2:00: Diversity in Comics: A Librarian’s Perspective
  • 3:00: Graphic Novel and Manga Programming for Tweens and Teens in our Diverse Communities for Any Budget
  • 4:00: Library Cons: Welcoming Deadpool into Your Library
  • 5:00: How to Judge What Is Appropriate in Comics: What Does T for Teen Really Mean?
Friday, July 21
  • 10:00: Using Comics to Support Different Learning Styles in the Classroom
  • 11:00: From Asterix to Zeus: Developing an Essential Kids’ Graphic Novel Collection
  • 12:00: Handling Challenges: Bans and Challenges to Comics
  • 1:00: Read Like a Girl: Middle Grade Fiction for Girls (and Boys)
  • 2:00: Nonfiction and Memoir in Graphic Novels
  • 3:00: Prose to Panels: Graphic Novel Adaptations
  • 4:00: Meet the Makers
  • 5:00: Publishers’ Talkback Session
Saturday, July 22
  • 10:00: Content Literacy: Teaching STEM with Comics
  • 11:00: CBLDF: Equipping Teachers to Defend Comics
  • 12:00: Graphic Novels in the High School Library
  • 1:00: Superheroes and Comics Can Transform Learning
  • 2:00: Comics in Classrooms and Instruction
  • 3:00: Developing Comics for Social Impact and Change
  • 4:00: When Comic Shops, Teachers, and Librarians Work Together
  • 5:00: Inspiring Young Readers Through Graphic Novels
Sunday, July 23
  • 11:00: GeekEd #1: Nerdentity
  • 12:00: GeekEd #2: Shall We Play a Game?
  • 1:00: GeekEd #3: Caring for the Nerd Mind
  • 2:00: GeekEd #4: Comics in Secondary Education

     


 

Comic-Con International 2017 Panels at the San Diego Central Library

Photo: G. Sassaman © 2017 SDCC

Your Favorite Podcasts and Web Series Live!

Looking for something new to listen to on your commute to work or something nerdy to watch on your breaks? There’s a whole world of fandom-themed podcasts and web series out there that cover topics ranging from general “geek” interest to specific comics, shows, games, books, and movies. In fact, some of the most exciting dialogues within the fan community are happening right now through podcasts and web series, so if you are interested in understanding fandom in its larger cultural context or in promoting the fan community, podcasts and web series are the place to be! 

At the San Diego Central Library, you can come see some of the most popular fandom-themed podcasts and web series doing live recordings of their shows. Some also include fan interaction, which could mean a chance to appear on in new episodes of your favorite podcasts and web series! Podcasts and web series will be featured in the Neil Morgan Auditorium in the San Diego Central Library on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday. Here’s a preliminary schedule of the panels, with more details coming in the complete Programming Schedule:

Thursday, July 20
  • 11:00: Batman: The Animated Podcast LIVE!
  • 12:00: Elfquest: An Intimate Conversation with Wendy and Richard Pini
  • 1:00: Heroes at the Mic
  • 2:00: Geek K.O. LVL 025: The Marvel Cinematic Universe
  • 3:00: Your Star Trek Podcast HQ: SoCal
  • 4:00: On the Mic Podcast Live from San Diego Comic-Con
Friday, July 21
  • 11:00: An Inside Look at Man at Arms: Reforged
  • 12:00: Space Command: Bold Adventures!
  • 1:00: The Hillywood Show Q&A Panel
  • 2:00: Film Threat Podcast LIVE!
  • 3:00: Comics on Comics: Live!
  • 4:00: Best of Earwolf
Saturday, July 22
  • 11:00: Nerd Up or Shut Up Live!
  • 12:00: Outlandish Confabulation: An Outlander Fan Panel
  • 1:00: The Kaiju Kingdom Podcast: The Resurgence of the Kaiju Film Genre
  • 2:00: Children of Tendu Live!
  • 3:00: Lost Fans Unite with Jay and Jack
  • 4:00: A Song of Ice and Fire: Game of Thrones Fan Discussion

Check back for another Toucan Tip tomorrow here on Toucan, the only OFFICIAL SDCC blog! Bookmark Toucan and the Comic-Con Front Page for the latest updates for Comic-Con International 2017!

Comic-Con 2017 Panels and Events at the San Diego Central Library
Categories: