Toucan Blog Banner

2014 Eisner Award Judges Announced!

Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards

You know the new year is coming up fast when things like this start to happen! Comic-Con International has announced the 2014 Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards judges. This blue-ribbon committee will select the nominations to appear on the Eisner Awards ballot. This year's judges are:

  • Kathy Bottarini, owner of Comic Book Box, in Rohnert Park, CA.
  • William H. Foster III, professor of English at Naugatuck Valley Community College, Connecticut.
  • Christian Lipski, comics reviewer and journalist.
  • Lee Oeth, member of the Board of Directors, Comic-Con International: San Diego.
  • Jenny Robb, curator and associate professor, Billy Ireland Cartoon Library & Museum at the Ohio State University, the largest academic research institution dedicated to cartoons and comics.
  • James Romberger, fine artist and cartoonist who lives and works in Manhattan’s Lower East Side.

For more information on the 2014 judges, please click here.

The judges will meet in San Diego in early April to select the nominees that will be placed on the Eisner Awards ballot. The nominees will then be voted on by professionals in the comic book industry, and the results will be announced in a gala awards ceremony on Friday, July 25 at Comic-Con in San Diego.

Guidelines for submitting material to be considered by the judges will be announced here on the Comic-Con website in early January. The deadline for submitting nominations is March 17.