Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Eisner Hall of Fame Voting Now Open

The Eisner Awards judges have selected two individuals to automatically be inducted into the Will Eisner Comic Awards Hall of Fame for 2013. These inductees are Golden Age artist Mort Meskin (Vigilante, Wildcat, Johnny Quick for DC) and the late underground cartoonist Spain Rodriguez (Trashman, Nightmare Alley).

The judges have also chosen 13 nominees from which voters will select 4 to be inducted in the Hall of Fame this summer at the Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards at Comic-Con. These nominees are Marjorie Henderson Buell (“Marge”), Howard Cruse, Lee Falk, Bud Fisher, Bill Griffith, Al Jaffee, Jesse Marsh, Tarpé Mills, Thomas Nast, Gary Panter, Trina Robbins, Joe Sinnott, and Jacques Tardi.

Online voting is now open! To vote, you must be a professional working in the comics or related industries as a creator (writer, artist, cartoonist, colorist, letterer), a publisher or editor, a retailer (comics store owner or manager), a graphic novels librarian, or a comics historian/educator. Eligible voters can visit to register and then select up to four picks in the Hall of Fame category. The deadline for voting is March 4. Further eligibility information is provided on the site. The online voting process is being conducted by Mel Thompson and Associates, the official tabulators of the Eisner Awards. Submissions are currently being accepted in the other Eisner categories; the deadline is March 20. The nominees for these categories will be announced in mid-April.