Toucan Blog Banner

Judges Named for 2015 Eisner Awards!

Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards

It’s the comic industry’s biggest night: the Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards! But before we can get to the awards—before we can even get to the nominees—we have to have judges! Comic-Con International has announced the judges making up the blue ribbon committee that will decide the nominations. The 2015 judges are:

Carr D'Angelo, comics retailer and the founding owner of Earth-2 Comics.

Richard Graham, a media librarian and associate professor at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln and managing editor of SANE (Sequential Art Narratives in Education), an academic e-journal dedicated to using comics in classrooms.

Sean Howe, the author of Marvel Comics: The Untold Story, which received an Eisner Award for Best Comics-Related Book in 2013.

Susan Kirtley, associate professor of English and the Director of Rhetoric and Composition at Portland (Oregon) State University, where she is developing a Comics Studies program. 

Ron McFee, a volunteer with Comic-Con International for 35 years and has served on the Convention Committee since 1992.

Maggie Thompson, comics fandom pioneer, former co-editor of the Comics Buyer’s Guide, and regular contributor to Comic-Con’s Toucan blog and Diamond Comic Distributors’ Scoop newsletter.

To read more about the 2015 judges, please click here.

The judges will meet in San Diego in early April to select the nominees that will be placed on the Eisner Awards ballot. The nominees will then be voted on by professionals in the comic book industry, and the results will be announced in a gala awards ceremony on Friday, July 10 at Comic-Con in San Diego.