Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Reginald Hudlin and Joss Whedon Are the Latest Comic-Con Icon Award Recipients!

Writer/directors Reginald Hudlin and Joss Whedon are the 2015 and 2014 recipients of Comic-Con International’s prestigious Icon Award, which is presented to individuals who have been instrumental in bringing comics and/or the popular arts to a wider audience.

Joss Whedon with the 2014 Comic-Con International Icon Award

Joss Whedon with the 2014 Comic-Con International Icon Award. Photo by Albert L. Ortega © 2015 SDCC

Joss Whedon, who missed Comic-Con 2014 due to a knee injury, was given his award at the 2015 event. Whedon is the creator/executive producer of the TV series Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Angel, Firefly, Dollhouse, and Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. His directing credits include Serenity, Much Ado About Nothing, Dr. Horrible's Sing-Along Blog, Marvel’s The Avengers, and Avengers: Age of Ultron. In comics, Whedon has continued Buffy, Angel, and Firefly in ongoing series and has written Astonishing X-Men and Runaways for Marvel. His latest comics work is Twist, debuting soon as a 6-issue mini series from Dark Horse Comics.

Reginald Hudlin with the 2015 Comic-Con International Icon Award

Reginald Hudlin (left) accepts the 2015 Comic-Con International Icon Award from David Glanzer, director of marketing and public relations for Comic-Con. Photo by Chuk Gawlik © 2015 SDCC

Reginald Hudlin is the recipient of Comic-Con’s Icon Award for 2015. Hudlin is an innovator of the modern black film movement, having created, written, and/or directed such films as House Party, Boomerang, and BeBe’s Kids, which are some of the most profitable and influential films of his generation. He received an Academy Award Best Picture nomination for producing Quentin Tarantino’s Django Unchained. In the world of comics, Hudlin wrote the Black Panther series for Marvel, along with an award-winning run of Spider-Man, plus the the Django Unchained graphic novel for DC/Vertigo. He also was the executive producer and writer of the Black Panther animated series, and executive producer of The Boondocks animated series. Hudlin is also part of the relaunch of Milestone Media in comics, which will debut via DC Comics in the near future.

Whedon and Hudlin join the other 8 Icon Award recipients:

  • Frank Miller (2006)
  • Neil Gaiman (2007)
  • George Lucas (2008)
  • Stan Lee (2009)
  • Ray Bradbury (2010)
  • June Foray (2011)
  • Matt Groening (2012)
  • J. Michael Straczynski (2013)

For more information on Comic-Con's Icon Award, please click here.