Toucan Blog Banner

Will Eisner Hall of Fame 2015 Voting Now Open!

Will Eisner Hall of Fame

Voting for the Will Eisner Hall of Fame for 2015 is now open. The judges for the 2015 Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards picked 2 choices to be inductees; 13 others have been nominated. Eligible voters will decide which 4 nominees are inducted. The inductees will be announced as part of the Eisner Awards gala ceremony at Comic-Con International, on July 10, 2015.

This year’s Judges’ Choice inductees are:
Marjorie Henderson Buell (“Marge”) (1904–1993)

Creator of Little Lulu

Bill Woggon (1911–2003)

Creator of “Katy Keene, the Pinup Queen” for Archie Comics

This year's nominees are:
Lynda Barry (1956– )

Creator of the Ernie Pook's Comeek comic strip plus numerous books and how-to graphic novels

John Byrne (1950– )

Writer/artist on Fantastic Four, Superman, and numerous other titles; his memorable run on Uncanny X-Men (with writer Chris Claremont), made the X-Men fan favorites

Chris Claremont (1950– )

Writer whose 17-year run on Uncanny X-Men included creating or co-creating such characters as Rogue, Phoenix, Mystique, Sabretooth, and Gambit

Howard Cruse (1944–  )

Cartoonist whose work includes Barefootz, Wendel, and the award-winning graphic novel Stuck Rubber Baby

Kim Deitch (1944– )

Underground cartoonist best known for his recurring character Waldo the Cat, a fictional 1930s-era animated cat

Matt Groening (1954– )

Matt Groening, creator and executive producer of The Simpsons, and Futurama; in 1993, he formed the Bongo Comics Group

Denis Kitchen (1946– )

Underground cartoonist, publisher, and founder of the Comic Book Legal Defense Fund

Frank Miller (1957– )

Writer/artist on Daredevil, Batman, creator of Elektra, Bullseye, Ronin, Sin City, and co-creator of Big Guy and Rusty the Boy Robot, Hard Boiled, and Martha Washington

Francoise Mouly (1955- )

Editor and publisher of Raw Books and Graphics, and Toon Books, an imprint devoted to books for young readers done by cartoonists

Paul S. Newman (1924–1999)

Credited in the Guiness Book of World Records as the most prolific comic book writer, his work includes Turok, the Lone Ranger newspaper strip and co-creating Dr. Solar.

Lily Renée Peters Phillips (1925– )

Comic artist for publisher Fiction House on strips such as Werewolf Hunter, Jane Martin, Senorita Rio, and The Lost World

Bob Powell (1916–1967)

Artist famous for his work at Fiction House, including Sheena and Blackhawk, plus The Shadow, Man in Black, Daredevil, and Sick magazine for other publishers

Frank Robbins (1917­–1994)

Syndicated cartoonist and creator of Johnny Hazard; comics writer and artist for Marvel and DC on The Invaders, Captain American, Batman, and The Shadow

For more information on the inductees and nominees, including bios and art—and voting eligibility—please click here.