Announcing the Third Wave of Comic-Con 2024 Guests!

In addition to the 12 names announced previously, Comic-Con is pleased to welcome Liz Climo, Jo Duffy, Patrick McDonnell,  Christopher Paolini, Dan Santat, and Bryan Talbot as Special Guests for 2024!

Liz Climo image

Liz Climo is a cartoonist, animator, and author. She grew up in the San Francisco Bay Area and moved to Los Angeles after college to work as an artist on The Simpsons, where she worked for 14 years. She has published 17 books in the U.S., including Rory the Dinosaur, The Little World of Liz Climo, and Lobster is the Best Medicine. Her books have been translated into 14 languages, with millions of copies in print worldwide. Her newest book, Life in the Present, will be released this August. Liz lives in Los Angeles with her husband and daughter.

Jo Duffy image.

Jo Duffy has written comics including Power Man and Iron Fist, Catwoman, Batman, Wolverine, Fallen Angels, Nestrobber, Glory, Crystar, Elvira, Defenders, Punisher, and Star Wars, as well as the English language edition of Akira. She has written short stories, essays, the comic book biography of Saint Francis, and an adaptation of Kipling’s Jungle Book, and is the co-writer of two Puppet Master movies. She was managing editor of Epic magazine and an editor at Marvel comics, handling such titles as Elektra, Daredevil, Dreadstar, Groo, Doctor Strange, Hulk, and ROM. She co-edited Bernie Wrightson’s Frankenstein.

Patrick McDonnell image.

Patrick McDonnell’s worldwide syndicated comic strip MUTTS is celebrating its 30th anniversary. It has received numerous awards for its artistry and animal/environmental themes. Charles Schulz called MUTTS “one of the best comics strips of all time.” McDonnell’s latest graphic novel, The Super Hero’s Journey, was on 11 “best of the year” lists for 2023. He recently collaborated with the Dalai Lama (Heart to Heart). Breaking the Chain, a collection of his newsworthy comics about freeing Guard Dog, will be published this fall.

Christopher Paolini image.
Photo by Lo Hunter

Christopher Paolini is the creator of the World of Eragon and the Fractalverse. His blockbuster series The Inheritance Cycle (Eragon, Eldest, Brisingr, Inheritance) has sold more than 40 million copies worldwide. First published at 19, he is the holder of the Guinness World Record for youngest author of a bestselling series. Christopher makes his home in Paradise Valley, Montana, where he continues to write stories and ask questions.

Sponsored by Penguin Random House

Dan Santat image.

Dan Santat is the Caldecott Medal winning creator of The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend and the New York Times bestselling books Are We There Yet? and After the Fall (How Humpty Dumpty Got Back Up Again). He is the author and illustrator of over a hundred books for young people and the creator of the Disney animated series The Replacements. His recent graphic memoir, A First Time for Everything, is the 2023 National Book Award winner for Young People’s Literature and is nominated for a 2024 Will Eisner Comic Industry Award.

Bryan Talbot image.

Multiple awardwinner Bryan Talbot has written and drawn comics and graphic novels for nearly 50 years, including Judge Dredd, Batman, Sandman, The Adventures of Luther Arkwright, The Tale of One Bad Rat, Alice in Sunderland, Dotter of Her Father’s Eyes (with Mary Talbot), and his Grandville series of steampunk detective thrillers. Bryan was awarded a Doctorate in Arts and another in Letters and is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. He is currently drawing the 172-page Grandville prequel The Casebook of Stamford Hawksmoor. Bryan is being inducted into the Will Eisner Hall of Fame at this year’s Comic-Con.