Announcing the Fourth Wave of Comic-Con 2024 Guests!

In addition to the 18 names announced previously, Comic-Con is pleased to welcome Bill Amend, Lea Seidman Hernandez, Joe Jusko, Tom Sito, Ken Steacy, and Zoe Thorogood as Special Guests for 2024!

Bill Amend image

Bill Amend is the creator of the FoxTrot comic strip, syndicated since 1988 by Andrews McMeel Universal. FoxTrot‘s numerous book collections have combined sales of more than 3.5 million copies. Amend received the 2006 Reuben Award for Outstanding Cartoonist of the Year from the National Cartoonists Society and the Inkpot Award for Comic Arts from Comic-Con in 2012. He has a BA in physics from Amherst College and currently lives in the Midwest.

Known for her unabashedly feminine art and writing, Lea has a career of firsts: first woman with an original graphic novel at Image (Cathedral Child, 1998; Clockwork Angels, 1999), first creator to take a comic from print to web (Rumble Girls, 2002), and one of the first U.S. comickers publishing in a manga-influenced style, As editor of the website Girlamatic, Lea presented then-new comics creators like Raina Telgemeier (Smile). Lea gives entertaining drawing demos at conventions and schools, using skills honed as an artist/writer for DC’s Teen Titans Go! She is launching a line of prints and enamel pins at Comic-Con.

Joe Jusko smiling

Joe Jusko’s career as a fantasy, pin-up, and comics artist has spanned over 45 years, starting with the sale of his very first cover for Heavy Metal magazine in 1977. Joe has worked for almost every major comic book publisher, producing hundreds of images for both covers and interiors. His work has appeared on paperback book covers, calendars, posters, T-shirts, toy packaging, and innumerable trading cards, most memorably the multi-award-winning 1992 Marvel Masterpieces Trading Cards. His hardcover Art of Joe Jusko book was released by Desperado Publishing in 2009. Joe is currently painting new covers for The Edgar Rice Burroughs Authorized Library, a lifelong goal and an endeavor that will make him the first artist to cover every book written by the legendary author.

Cartoon of Tom Sito by Ed Wexler

Tom Sito is an animator and animation historian. He teaches animation at the University of Southern California. He has lectured on animation around the world and served as president of The Animation Guild Local 839 Hollywood. His movie credits include Walt Disney’s Beauty and the Beast, The Lion King, Who Framed Roger Rabbit, The Little Mermaid, and Aladdin (1992); Dreamworks’ Shrek and The Prince of Egypt; and Warner Bros.’ Osmosis Jones. His TV credits include He-Man and the Masters of the Universe, She-Ra Princess of Power, and The Superfriends. His books include Drawing the Line: The Untold Story of the Animation Unions from Bosko to Bart Simpson; Moving Innovation: A History of Computer Animation; and Eat, Drink, Animate, An Animator’s Cookbook.

Art by Ed Wexler

Ken Steacy wearing a headset

Ken’s visual storytelling career spans a half century, as a writer, artist, art director, editor, and publisher. He has chronicled the exploits of Astro Boy, Iron Man, Harry Potter, and the Star Wars gang; and, in addition to producing his own IP, he has collaborated with Margaret Atwood, Harlan Ellison, and Trina Robbins. The recipient of an Eisner Award and an Inkpot Award, in 2009 Ken was inducted into the Joe Shuster Canadian Comic Book Hall of Fame, a lifetime achievement award for contributions to the industry. He’s currently working on a graphic novel that explores the invisible subculture of military brats.

Zoe Thorogood about to eat

Zoe Thorogood is the creator of the Eisner Award–nominated It’s Lonely at the Centre of the Earth and The Impending Blindness of Billie Scott. She also illustrated Joe Hill’s Rain, for which she earned an Eisner Award nomination. Her latest projects are Hack/Slash: Back to School and Life Is Strange: Forget-Me-Not. She is currently working on a new graphic novel titled I Think I Might Be Evil. Zoe received Comic-Con’s Russ Manning Promising Newcomer Award in 2023.