Past Recipients

Will Eisner Spirit of Comics Retailer Award

Visionary comics creator Will Eisner (The Spirit, Contract with God) approached Comic-Con International in the mid-1990s to create an award that recognized the incredible contributions of retailers to the comic book industry. He wanted to stress the crucial bond between creators, publishers and retailers in getting the books into the hands of the public. Comic-Con created the Will Eisner Spirit of Comics Retailer Award to honor those retailers in the United States and around the world.

Will Eisner Spirit of Comics Retailer Award Winner 2021

The Laughing Ogre
Chris Lloyd • Columbus, Ohio

Special Thanks to Our 2021 Judges
  • Henry Barajas • Latinx author and comic book professional. Writer of La Voz de M.A.Y.O. Tata Rambo & Helm Greycastle – Director of Operations & direct market outreach coordinator Top Cow Productions
  • Ryan Benjamin • Professional artist for 27 years with Marvel, DC, Image and many other entertainment companies. He is also a self published artist of a variety of books including the Eisner nominated comic, Brothers Bond
  • Kyle Kreamer • Diamond Comic Distributors, Manager in the Retailer Services Department
  • Sergio López • Owner Nostromo Cómics, Seville, Spain, 2020 Will Eisner Spirit of Comics Retailer Award winner
  • Jeff Smith • Author and illustrator of the best-selling BONERASL and TUKI graphic novels
Award Facilitator
  • Joe Ferrara • Owner, Atlantis Fantasyworld, Santa Cruz, CA (1996 Spirit Award Winner)

Past Recipients
  • 2023: Cape and Cowl, Eitan Manhoff, Oakland, California
  • 2022: Books with Pictures, Katie Pryde, Portland, Oregon
  • 2021: The Laughing Ogre, Chris Lloyd, Columbus, Ohio
  • 2020: Nostromo Sevilla, Sergio López, Seville, Spain
  • 2019: La Revisteria Comics, Alejandro Gonzalez, Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • 2018: Norma Comics, Rafa Martinez, Barcelona, Spain
  • 2017: Comicazi, Robert Howard, David Lockwood, Michael Burke, Somerville, MA
  • 2016: Orbital Comics, Karl Asaa, Damian Keeng & James Wilson, London, UK
  • 2015: Packrat Comics, Jamie Colegrove and Teresa Colegrove, Hilliard, OH
  • 2014: All Star Comics, Troy Varker and Mitchell Davies, Melbourne, Australia • Legends Comics & Coffee, David DeMarco, Jason Dasenbrock, and Wendy Pivonka, Omaha, NE
  • 2013: Challengers Comics and Conversation, Patrick Brower and W. Dal Bush, Chicago, IL
  • 2012: Akira Comics, Jesus Marugan Escobar, Madrid, Spain • The Dragon, Jennifer Haines Guelph, Ontario, Canada  
  • 2011: Comics & Vegetables, Yuval Sharon & Danny Amitai, Tel Aviv, Israel
  • 2010: Vault of Midnight, Curtis Sullivan & Steve Fodale, Ann Arbor, MI
  • 2009: Tate’s Comics, Tate & Amanda Ottati, Fort Launderdale, FL
  • 2008: Brave New World, Atom! & Portlyn Freeman, Newhall, CA
  • 2007: Earth-2 Comics, Carr D’Angelo & Jud Meyers, Sherman Oaks, CA
  • 2006: Zeus Comics, Richard Neal, Dallas, TX
  • 2005: Night Flight Comics, Mimi Cruz and Alan Carroll, Salt Lake City, UT
  • 2004: ACME Comics & Collectibles, Fran & Kevin McGarry, Sioux City, IA
  • 2003: All About Books and Comics, Alan & Marsha Giroux, Phoenix, AZ
  • 2002: Source Comics & Games, Nick Postilgione, Falcon Heights, MN
  • 2001: Strange Adventures, Calum Johnston, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
  • 2000Golden Age Collectables, Patrick Shaughnessy, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
  • 1999: Star Clipper Comics & Games, Scott Thorne, St. Louis, MO • DreamHaven, Greg Ketter, Minneapolis, MN
  • 1998: Hi De Ho Comics, Mark & Robert Hennessey, Santa Monica, CA • Meltdown Comics & Collectibles, Gaston Dominquez & Ilia Carson, Los Angeles, CA
  • 1997: Chicago Comics, Eric Kirsammer, Chicago, IL • Central City Comics, Steve Snyder, Columbus, OH • That’s Entertainment, Paul Howley, Fitchburg & Worchester, MA
  • 1996: Kings Comics, George Vlastaras, Sydney, Australia • Atlantis Fantasyworld, Joe & Dottie Ferrara, Santa Cruz, CA
  • 1995: Flying Colors, Joe Field, Concord, CA • Lambiek, Kees Kousemaker, Amsterdam, Holland
  • 1994: Golden Apple, Bill Liebowitz, Los Angeles, CA • Dr. Comics & Mr. Games, Leon Cowen & Michael Pandolfo, Oakland, CA
  • 1993: Moondog’s, Gary Colobuono, Chicago, IL • The Beguiling, Sean Scoffield & Steve Solomos, Toronto, Ontario, Canada • Comic Relief, Rory Root & Mike Patchen, Berkeley & San Francisco, CA