Russ Manning Award

Self-portrait by Russ Manning
Self-portrait by Russ Manning
Comic-Con Announces 
2023 Manning Award Nominees

Comic-Con is pleased to announce this year’s nominees for the Russ Manning Promising Newcomer Award (commonly referred to as The Manning Award).

They are:
Soroush Barazesh, writer/artist of Kings of Nowhere (Dark Horse)
Shof Coker, co-creator/artist of New Masters (Image)
Ryan Lang, writer/artist of Issunboshi: A Graphic Novel (Oni)
Tim Probert, writer/artist of the Lightfall series (HarperAlley)
Zoe Thorogood, writer/artist of The Impending Blindness of Billie Scott (Avery Hill), writer/artist of It’s Lonely at the Center of the Earth (Image), artist of Rain (Image)

The nominees were chosen by a panel consisting of board and committee members of Comic-Con International and a San Diego comics retailer. The winner will be chosen by past Manning Award winners and Russ Manning assistants. The recipient will be announced during the Eisner Awards ceremony on July 21 at Comic-Con in San Diego.

The Manning Award has been given out annually at Comic-Con in San Diego since 1982. It is presented to comics artists who, early in their career, show a superior knowledge and ability in the art of creating comics. It is named for Russ Manning, the artist best known for his work on the Tarzan and Star Wars newspaper strips and the Magnus, Robot Fighter comic book. Russ was a popular guest at the San Diego convention in the 1970s.

The first recipient of the award was former Manning assistant Dave Stevens, who went on to create The Rocketeer. Other past recipients have included Jan Duursema, Steve Rude, Scott McCloud, Art Adams, Eric Shanower, Dan Brereton, Jeff Smith, Gene Ha, Alexander Maleev, David Petersen, Eleanor Davis, Tyler Crook, Dan Mora, Anne Szabala, and Greg Smallwood, to name a few.

Previous Award Recipients
  • 2022 Luana Vecchio
  • 2019 Lorena Alvarez
  • 2018 (TIE) Hamish Steele, Pablo Tunica
  • 2017: Anne Szabla
  • 2016: Dan Mora
  • 2015: (TIE) Jorge Corona, Greg Smallwood
  • 2014: Aaron Conley
  • 2013: Russel Roehling
  • 2012: Tyler Crook
  • 2011: Nate Simpson
  • 2010: Marian Churchland
  • 2009: Eleanor Davis
  • 2008: Cathy Malkasian
  • 2007: David Petersen
  • 2006: R. Kikuo Johnson
  • 2005: Chris Bailey
  • 2004: Eric Wight
  • 2003: Jerome Opena
  • 2002: Tan Eng Huat
  • 2001: Goran Sudzuka
  • 2000: Alan Bunce
  • 1999: Jay Anceleto
  • 1998: Matt Vander Pool
  • 1997: Walt Holcomb
  • 1996: Alexander Maleev
  • 1995: Edvin Biukovic
  • 1994: Gene Ha
  • 1993: Jeff Smith
  • 1992: Mike Okamoto
  • 1991: Daerick Gross
  • 1990: Dan Brereton
  • 1989: Richard Piers Raynor
  • 1988: Kevin Maguire
  • 1987: Eric Shanower
  • 1986: Art Adams
  • 1985: Scott McCloud
  • 1984: Steve Rude
  • 1983: Jan Duursema
  • 1982: Dave Stevens