Hall of Fame

Since the founding of the Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards (and their previous incarnation, the Kirby Awards), the following individuals have been inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Jim Steranko

Jim Steranko


Coming from a colorful career as an escape artist, magician, and musician, Jim Steranko first created Spyman for Harvey Comics before going to Marvel in the mid-1960s, when he electrified comics fans with his work on “Nick Fury, Agent of S.H.I.E.L.D.” In 1976 he produced the hard-boiled graphic novel Chandler: Red Tide and also pursued a successful career as a paperback cover artist (most notably the Shadow series). He has gone on to do conceptual art for films as well as produce occasional comics covers. Inducted 2006

Dave Stevens

Dave Stevens

Photo by Jackie Estrada



Dave Stevens created the Rocketeer, the retro adventure hero of 1980s indie comics and 1991 movie fame. The Rocketeer combined Stevens’ love of 1930s movies, the golden age of aviation, and 1950s pinup girl Bettie Page. Before becoming a professional artist, Stevens contributed amateur illustrations to early Comic-Con program books in the 1970s. His first professional gig was as Russ Manning’s assistant on the Tarzan comic strip in 1975. Stevens later worked as an animator at Hanna-Barbera and a storyboard artist on projects including Raiders of the Lost Ark and Michael Jackson’s “Thriller” music video. Stevens was the first recipient of the Russ Manning Most Promising Newcomer Award in 1982, and he won an Inkpot Award and the Kirby Award for Best Graphic Album in 1986.

Inducted 2019

Curt Swan

Curt Swan

Photo by Jackie Estrada



Curt Swan drew Superman for nearly 30 years, from 1955 to the mid-1980s. For many fans, Swan’s version of Superman is the definitive one. He’s also known for his work on Jimmy Olsen, Legion of Super-Heroes, and World’s Finest, featuring team-ups of Superman and Batman. Inducted 1997

Rumiko Takahashi

Will Eisner Hall of Fame Recipient, 2018, Rumiko Takahashi


Popular manga creator Rumiko Takahashi is said to be the bestselling female comics artist in history, with hundreds of millions of her books sold around the world. Takahashi's first published work was the one-shot Katte na Yatsura in 1978. Later that year her first major work began being serialized, Urusei Yatsura. She went on to create such classic works as Maison Ikkoku, Ranma ½, InuYasha, One Pound Gospel, Mermaid Saga, and Rumic Theater. Several of her works have been animated. The year 2008 marked the 50th anniversary of Weekly Shōnen Sunday and the 30th anniversary of the first publication of Urusei Yatsura, and Rumiko Takahashi's manga work was honored in It's a Rumic World, a special exhibition held from at the Matsuya Ginza department store in Tokyo.

Inducted 2018

Jacques Tardi

Jacques Tardi, Will Eisner Hall of Fame


Considered the father of the “new realism” style, French cartoonist Jacques Tardi began his comics career in 1970, with stories for Pilote and later Metal Hurlant. He is best known in the U.S. for his Adele Blanc-Sec series and the graphic novels West Coast Blues, The Arctic Maurauder, Bloody Streets of Paris, Like a Sniper Lining Up His Shot, and the Eisner Award-winning It Was the War of the Trenches and Goddamn This War.

Inducted 2016

Osamu Tezuka

Will Eisner Hall of Fame


Osamu Tezuka was the dean of Japan’s comics (manga) and animation (anime) industries from 1947 until his death in 1989. He created such wide-ranging series as Astro Boy (Mighty Atom), Kimba the White Lion (Jungle Emperor), Adolf, Phoenix, and Black Jack. With many of these works now available in U.S. editions, his following and influence among Americans continues to increase, over 20 years after his death. Inducted 2002

Roy Thomas

Roy Thomas

Photo by Alan Waite



Roy Thomas helped Jerry G. Bails found Alter Ego, the first real comic book fanzine. From 1965 to 1980 he wrote and edited for Stan Lee at Marvel (X-Men, Avengers, Invaders, Conan the Barbarian, Red Sonja et al.) and served as editor-in-chief from 1972 to 1974. From 1980 to 1986 Roy wrote for DC, mostly titles he co-created such as All-Star Squadron and Infinity, Inc. In 1999 Roy revived Alter Ego for TwoMorrows Publishing. Inducted 2011

Alex Toth

Alex Toth

Photo by Jackie Estrada



Although he didn’t create any famous characters or have long runs on any well-known comics titles, Alex Toth is revered among comics artists for his sparse yet eloquent drawing style and his storytelling techniques. In animation, his character designs for shows such as Space Ghost and Jonny Quest have influenced many a modern cartoonist. Inducted 1991

Morrie Turner

Morrie Turner


Morrie Turner created the Wee Pals comic strip in 1965. When Wee Pals first appeared, bringing black characters to the comics pages was by no means an easy task. At first, only five major newspapers published the strip. It was not until 1968 and the tragic assassination of Martin Luther King Jr. that Wee Pals achieved nationwide acceptance. Within three months of Dr. King’s death, Wee Pals was appearing in more than 100 newspapers nationwide. In 2012 Turner was the recipient of Comic-Con’s Bob Clampett Humanitarian Award. He also has the distinction of having been one of the handful of pros at the very first Comic-Con in 1970.

Inducted 2019

Alberto Uderzo



Alberto Uderzo was a struggling French cartoonist with several unsuccessful strips under his belt when he hooked up with writer René Goscinny to create Asterix the Gaul in 1959 for the first issue of Pilote, a comics weekly. After Goscinny died in 1977, Uderzo continued to produce Asterix albums on his own. Inducted 2007

Lynd Ward

Lynd Ward


As a pioneer in the graphic novel, Lynd Ward produced six wordless novels in wood engravings from 1929 to 1937. His first novel, God's Man, was followed by Madman's Drum, Wild Pilgrimage, Prelude to a Million Years, Song Without Words, and Vertigo. All six books have been collected in a two-volume slip-cased edition by Library of the Americas. Inducted 2011

Len Wein

Len Wein


Len Wein is the co-creator of the legendary comic book series Swamp Thing, Human Target, and Brother Voodoo, as well as Wolverine and the New X-Men. He is noted for long runs writing almost every major character in the business, ranging from Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman, Justice League, Green Lantern, and the Flash, at DC to Spider-Man, the Incredible Hulk, the Mighty Thor, the Fantastic Four, and the X-Men at Marvel. Inducted 2007

Mort Weisinger

Mort Weisinger


The Superman editor at DC Comics during the 1940s–1960s, Mort Weisinger is also credited with co-creating Aquaman, Green Arrow, and Johnny Quick. It was under his tenure that many aspects of the Superman universe came into being, from Supergirl and Krypto to the Legion of Super-Heroes and the various types of kryptonite. Inducted 2010

Major Malcolm Wheeler-Nicholson

Major Malcolm Wheeler-Nicholson
Major Malcolm


In the fall of 1934, Major Wheeler-Nicholson founded National Allied Publications and published New Fun #1, the first comic book containing all-original material. The magazine was retitled More Fun in 1936. Wheeler-Nicholson added a second magazine, New Comics, in 1935, which became New Adventure Comics with issue 12 and finally Adventure Comics with #32. The third and final title published under his aegis was Detective Comics, premiering in 1937. Inducted 2009

Ogden Whitney

Will Eisner Hall of Fame


Ogden Whitney is best known as the artist of “Herbie, the Fat Fury,” the strange boy addicted to lollipops who appeared in ACG Comics from the late 1950s to mid-1960s. Herbie (scripted by Shane O’Shea aka Richard Hughes) made his first appeared in Forbidden Worlds in 1958 and got his own feature in 1964. In the later 1960s. Inducted 2007