Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Special Guests

The following special guests are confirmed for WonderCon Anaheim 2018, March 23–25 at the Anaheim Convention Center.

Ryan Benjamin

Ryan Benjamin at WonderCon Anaheim 2018, March 23–25 at the Anaheim Convention Center
Ryan
Benjamin

Artist, WildC.A.T.S, Batman Beyond, Brothers Bond

Ryan Benjamin studied commercial art at International Fine Arts College (IFAC) in Miami, FL. His early career began with Image Comics in 1994 and branched off into WildStorm Comics and a series of companies including Marvel, DC, Dark Horse, Acclaim, and Valiant. Eventually he became a 3D artist, with 16+ years in the video games industry, 11 of those years as a senior artist at Sony Entertainment. His career as a professional comics artist includes such top-selling titles as WildC.A.T.S, Grifter, X-Men, Star Wars, Spawn, Captain America, Iron Man, Grifter/Midnighter, Batman, Batman Beyond (#1 New York Times bestseller), Wonder Woman, Pancratia, Brothers Bond, and many more. A variety of his work as a designer can be seen in video games such as DC Universe (DCUO), Marvel MOBA games, and TV shows and movies like ThunderCats, Ultimate Spider-Man, Little Man, Pacific Rim, Mech X4, and more. His new book, Brothers Bond, will be available on WEBTOONS.com in November. More info at www.ryanbenjamin.com

Kevin Hearne

Kevin Hearne at WonderCon Anaheim 2018, March 23–25 at the Anaheim Convention Center
Kevin
Hearne

Author, Iron Druid Chronicles, Seven Kennings trilogy

Kevin Hearne is the New York Times bestselling author of the Iron Druid Chronicles as well the Seven Kennings, an epic fantasy trilogy that begins with A Plague of Giants. He lives with his family and doggies next to the proverbial farmer in the dell, where the cheese stands alone. Kevin’s last Iron Druid book, Scourged, comes out April 3; Kill the Farm Boy, co-authored with Delilah S. Dawson, is the first of a new comedic fantasy series in the tradition of Terry Pratchett and The Princess Bride; it will be out in July 2018. 

Jim Lee

Jim Lee at WonderCon Anaheim 2018, March 23–25 at the Anaheim Convention Center

Photo: Mike Jara Photography

Jim
Lee

Publisher, DC Comics, artist, Batman: Hush, Immortal Men

Jim Lee is a renowned comic book artist and the publisher of DC Entertainment. In addition to his duties as publisher, he is the artist for many of DC Comics’s bestselling comic books and graphic novels, including Justice League: Origins, Batman: Hush, and Superman Unchained. He also served as the executive creative director for the DC Universe Online (DCUO) massively multiplayer action game from Daybreak Games, currently available free to play on PS4, PS3 and on Windows PC. For his latest project, Lee is handling the art chores on the Immortal Men comic book.

Appearing Friday and Saturday only.

Ed Piskor

Ed Piskor at WonderCon Anaheim 2018, March 23–25 at the Anaheim Convention Center
Ed
Piskor

Cartoonist, Hip Hop Family Tree, X-Men: Grand Design

Ed Piskor lives and draws out of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. He is a former student of the Kubert School, collaborated with Harvey Pekar, and put out the graphic novel Wizzywig. His New York Times bestselling series, Hip Hop Family Tree, which was originally serialized on Boing Boing, has gone back to print numerous times, and won the 2015 Eisner Award for Best Reality-Based Work. Ed is currently working on X-Men: Grand Design for Marvel Comics.

V. E. Schwab

V. E. Schwab at WonderCon Anaheim 2018, March 23–25 at the Anaheim Convention Center

Photo: Jenna Maurice

V. E.
Schwab

Author, Shades of Magic series, Vengeful

Victoria “V.E.” Schwab is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of more than a dozen books, including the acclaimed Shades of Magic series, This Savage SongOur Dark Duet, and Vicious. Her work has received critical acclaim, has been featured in the New York TimesEntertainment WeeklyWashington Post, and more, has been translated into more than a dozen languages, and has been optioned for television and film. When she’s not haunting Paris streets or trudging up English hillsides, she lives in Nashville and is usually tucked in the corner of a coffee shop, dreaming up monsters. Her new book, Vengeful, will be released in fall 2018.

Liam Sharp

LIam Sharp at WonderCon Anaheim 2018, March 23–25 at the Anaheim Convention Center
Liam
Sharp

Writer, artist, publisher, Wonder Woman, The Possessed

Liam Sharp is a writer, artist, and publisher. His comic art for DC has encapsulated horror: WildStorm's The Possessed with Geoff Johns; anthropology, myth, and psychedelia: Vertigo's acclaimed Testament with Douglas Rushkoff; and hardcore sci-fi: WildStorm/Epic's Gears of War with Joshua Ortega, the best-selling comic of 2008. He also illustrated the graphic novel Superman: Where Is Thy Sting? written by J. M. DeMatteis, and numerous other mainstream titles over his 30+ year career. Sharp has two novels to his name: God Killers (Mam Tor) and Paradise Rex Press, Inc. (PSPublishing). He co-founded the progressive digital storytelling company Madefire, for which he co-created Captain Stone Is Missing . . . with his wife Christina. Liam recently finished a run on the bestselling Wonder Woman: Rebirth series, with the story arcs “The Lies” and “The Truth” with Greg Rucka, and he is currently working on a major six-issue series for DC, which he is also writing.

Cat Staggs

Cat Staggs at WonderCon Anaheim 2018, March 23–25 at the Anaheim Convention Center
Cat
Staggs

Artist, Crosswind, Smallville Season 11, Wonder Woman ’77

Cat Staggs is an artist best known for her work on the New York Times bestselling title Smallville Season 11 from DC Comics. Currently working on Crosswind with co-creator, Gail Simone (Image Comics), she has also worked on popular titles such as Adventures of Supergirl, Wonder Woman 77, Sensation Comics featuring Wonder Woman, The Vampire Diaries, Phantom Lady and Doll Man (DC Comics); The X-Files and Orphan Black, and Star Trek (IDW); and over 10 years in the Star Wars universe with Lucasfilm.

Mark Waid

Mark Waid at WonderCon Anaheim 2018, March 23–25 at the Anaheim Convention Center
Mark
Waid

Writer, Archie, Avengers, Kingdom Come

Mark Waid is a New York Times bestselling author whose many works include Kingdom Come, Superman: Birthright, and years-long runs on such popular titles as Daredevil, Fantastic Four, Flash, and Justice League. Currently he scripts Archie, Marvel’s Avengers, Captain America, and Champions. As a publisher, he runs Thrillbent.com, a cutting-edge website showcasing a wide variety of comics (many of them his own) produced specifically for tablets and digital devices. He lives in Santa Monica but never goes to the beach because his Irish skin would burst into flame.