Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Special Guests

The following special guests are confirmed for WonderCon Anaheim 2018, March 23–25 at the Anaheim Convention Center.

Sergio Aragonés

Sergio Aragonés at WonderCon Anaheim 2018, March 23–25 at the Anaheim Convention Center
Sergio
Aragonés

Cartoonist, MAD, Groo

One of MAD magazine's longest-running cartoonists (only Al Jaffee has been around longer) and the creator of dim-witted barbarian Groo the Wanderer, Sergio Aragonés is one of comics’ most popular creators. In addition to his continuing work for MAD, Sergio—the man some call the world’s fastest cartoonist—had his own comic book series at Bongo Comics, Sergio Aragonés Funnies. His most recent work includes a 4-issue mini series from Dark Horse Comics, Groo: Play of the Gods.

Ryan Benjamin

Ryan Benjamin at WonderCon Anaheim 2018, March 23–25 at the Anaheim Convention Center
Ryan
Benjamin

Artist, WildC.A.T.S, Batman Beyond, Brothers Bond

Ryan Benjamin studied commercial art at International Fine Arts College (IFAC) in Miami, FL. His early career began with Image Comics in 1994 and branched off into WildStorm Comics and a series of companies including Marvel, DC, Dark Horse, Acclaim, and Valiant. Eventually he became a 3D artist, with 16+ years in the video games industry, 11 of those years as a senior artist at Sony Entertainment. His career as a professional comics artist includes such top-selling titles as WildC.A.T.S, Grifter, X-Men, Star Wars, Spawn, Captain America, Iron Man, Grifter/Midnighter, Batman, Batman Beyond (#1 New York Times bestseller), Wonder Woman, Pancratia, Brothers Bond, and many more. A variety of his work as a designer can be seen in video games such as DC Universe (DCUO), Marvel MOBA games, and TV shows and movies like ThunderCats, Ultimate Spider-Man, Little Man, Pacific Rim, Mech X4, and more. His new book, Brothers Bond, will be available on WEBTOONS.com in November. More info at www.ryanbenjamin.com

Nidhi Chanani

Nidhi Chanani at WonderCon Anaheim 2018, March 23–25 at the Anaheim Convention Center
Nidhi
Chanani

Writer, artist, Pashmina

Nidhi Chanani was born in Kolkata, India, and raised in Southern California. She holds a degree in literature from the University of California Santa Cruz. She creates illustrations that capture the love in everyday moments. In 2012 she was honored at the White House as a Champion of Change for her art. Her illustrations are sold in boutiques along the West Coast and she's worked with companies like Disney and Hasbro. Nidhi lives in the San Francisco Bay area with her husband, daughter, and two cats. Pashmina is her debut graphic novel, and it is currently available from First Second.

Michael Dante DiMartino

Michael Dante DiMartino at WonderCon Anaheim 2018, March 23–25 at the Anaheim Convention Center
Michael Dante
DiMartino

Co-creator, director, exec. prod., Avatar: The Last Airbender

Michael Dante DiMartino is a graduate of the Rhode Island School of Design and the co-creator of the award-winning animated Nickelodeon series Avatar: The Last Airbender and its sequel, The Legend of Korra. He lives in Los Angeles with his wife and two children. The Rebel Geniuses series is his debut prose work. The second book in the series, Warrior Genius, was published in January 2018.

Appearing Friday and Saturday only

Mark Evanier

Mark Evanier at WonderCon Anaheim 2018, March 23–25 at the Anaheim Convention Center
Mark
Evanier

Writer, producer, comics historian, Kirby King of Comics, Garfield

Mark Evanier has been writing comic books since he was 17, having started reading them when he was about that many minutes old. He apprenticed with the great Jack Kirby and has written much about Jack and comic book history. He's written countless comics including many with the superstars of Disney, Warner Brothers and Hanna-Barbera, as well as Blackhawk and others for DC, his own co-creations including The DNAgents, Crossfire, and Magnor, plus he does something (God knows what) on Groo the Wanderer with Sergio Aragonés. He's also written hundreds of hours for TV including sitcoms, variety shows and cartoons, including writing/producing 20 years of Garfield the Cat.

Jason Fabok

Jason Fabok at WonderCon Anaheim 2018, March 23–25 at the Anaheim Convention Center
Jason
Fabok

Artist, Batman, Justice League, Suicide Squad

Jason Fabok is a Canadian-born comic book artist and illustrator. After apprenticing with comic artist David Finch, Jason was able to impress editors at DC Comics and earn his first published job. Since 2010, Jason has worked on some of comic's biggest characters on DC's biggest books, such as Detective Comics, Suicide Squad, Justice League, and Batman, with some of the biggest writers in the industry. Jason's hyper-detailed work and flair for big, bold characters has earned him favor among comic book fans and readers.

Outside of comic books, Jason has designed coins for the Canadian Mint, designed action figures, high end statues and collectibles, and illustrated billboards and designs for theme parks. 

Mitch Gerads

Mitch Gerads at WonderCon Anaheim 2018, March 23–25 at the Anaheim Convention Center
Mitch
Gerads

Artist, Mister Miracle, The Sheriff of Babylon

Mitch Gerads is an American illustrator for DC Comics. Currently working on the critically acclaimed Mister Miracle series with long-time collaborator, Tom King, he is best known for his much-lauded work on Batman, The Sheriff of Babylon, The Punisher, The Activity, and more. He has made a career out of bringing humanity and realism to the superhuman and unreal. He lives in Phoenix, AZ with his wife, son, and rad cat.

Kevin Grevioux

Kevin Grevioux at WonderCon Anaheim 2018, March 23–25 at the Anaheim Convention Center
Kevin
Grevioux

Writer, I, Frankenstein, Spider-Man, Cyborg

Kevin Grevioux co-created the successful Underworld franchise, based on his original screenplay. He was also a co-producer on the film series, as well as playing the character RAZE. Grevioux also wrote the original screenplay to the film I, Frankenstein produced by Lakeshore Entertainment, based on his original graphic novel. He has worked for both Marvel and DC Comics writing such characters and books as Spider-Man, The New Warriors, Odyssey of the Amazons, Cyborg, and Adam: Legend of the Blue Marvel, which he created. In addition, he owns Darkstorm/Astounding Comics.

Larry Hama

Larry Hama at WonderCon Anaheim 2018, March 23–25 at the Anaheim Convention Center
Larry
Hama

Writer, artist, GI Joe, Deathstroke

Larry Hama is a writer/artist/editor/actor who is best known as the writer of Marvel’s GI Joe and Wolverine comics in the ‘80s and ‘90s. He has also written, edited or drawn Avengers, Conan, Batman, Wonder Woman, X-Men, Spider-Man, and dozens more. His illustrations and cartoons have appeared in National Lampoon, Esquire, New York, and Rolling Stone. He appeared in MASH, SNL, and The Warriors. His most recent novel is The Death of Captain America. Larry recently scripted Batman: Shadow of the Bat, and Wonder Woman for DC Comics’ Convergence event, and Call of Duty Black Ops for Dark Horse. He is currently writing GI Joe ARAH for IDW, and doing breakdowns for Deathstroke at DC.

Kevin Hearne

Kevin Hearne at WonderCon Anaheim 2018, March 23–25 at the Anaheim Convention Center
Kevin
Hearne

Author, Iron Druid Chronicles, Seven Kennings trilogy

Kevin Hearne is the New York Times bestselling author of the Iron Druid Chronicles as well the Seven Kennings, an epic fantasy trilogy that begins with A Plague of Giants. He lives with his family and doggies next to the proverbial farmer in the dell, where the cheese stands alone. Kevin’s last Iron Druid book, Scourged, comes out April 3; Kill the Farm Boy, co-authored with Delilah S. Dawson, is the first of a new comedic fantasy series in the tradition of Terry Pratchett and The Princess Bride; it will be out in July 2018. 

Faith Erin Hicks

Faith Erin Hicks at WonderCon Anaheim 2018, March 23–25 at the Anaheim Convention Center
Faith Erin
Hicks

Writer, artist, The Nameless City trilogy, The Adventures of Superhero Girl

Faith Erin Hicks writes and draws comics. Her previously published works include The War at Ellsmere, Friends with Boys, Nothing Can Possibly Go Wrong (with Prudence Shen), the Bigfoot Boy series (with J Torrest), The Last of Us: American Dreams (with Neil Druckmann), and The Nameless City trilogy. Her comic The Adventures of Superhero Girl won an Eisner Award in 2014. She lives and works in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.

Jody Houser

Jody Houser at WonderCon Anaheim 2018, March 23–25 at the Anaheim Convention Center
Jody
Houser

Writer, Mother Panic, Faith, Spider-Man: Renew Your Vows

An Eisner and Ringo Award-nominated comic book writer, Jody Houser is currently working on such books as Mother Panic from Young Animal/DC Comics, Faith from Valiant, and Spider-Man: Renew Your Vows from Marvel. She has worked on numerous properties in comics, including Orphan Black, Max Ride, Star Wars, James Bond, Attack on Titan, and Halo. She has also made appearances on several Geek & Sundry shows including VAST and Eric's TBD RPG.